Why would I lie about hits on my blog? Why would anyone care?

Since I put the counter on my blog yesterday, I have had a couple people message me that they think I was lying about the number of hits that I have had on my blog. Why would I lie about such a thing? I am sure many many people have a great many more hits than I have. I know its not a lot. It’s not about that for me. I keep sharp in my skills and I put the number of hits up there to have something else dynamic on my page. I am not an experienced blogger and playing around with this stuff (counters, polls etc) is kind of cool. Why would you care? But to just prove I am not lying here is a screen shot of the top of my stats page. I just don’t get it.

Click on the image to see a full size image.

 

  1. #1 by Edge on November 15, 2008 - 4:06 pm

    Hey Kelly,
      I\’m at least a couple hundred of those myself, eh?

  2. #2 by Kelly on November 15, 2008 - 4:19 pm

    wouldn\’t doubt it!! I love having friends like you. Its just cool.

  3. #3 by Michael on November 15, 2008 - 10:48 pm

    I don\’t think you would either. Hits are just hits. Maybe they\’re just jealous.
     
    Seriously, I wish Microsoft would put adCenter to good use, and give us better stats about our own Spaces pages.

  4. #4 by Chris on November 15, 2008 - 11:29 pm

    Don\’t worry about it, bro. People seem to be in the mood to gripe these days. Keep up the great work!

  5. #5 by Jamie on November 16, 2008 - 2:18 am

    Completely agree with Quikboy about adCenter. I use it on my other blog (http://blogs.conchango.com/jamiethomson/archive/2008/10/30/business-intelligence-for-my-blog-from-adcenter-analytics.aspx) and I think its great.Its a shame they don\’t make better use of it.

  6. #6 by John on November 16, 2008 - 3:43 am

    Haters are everywhere don\’t pay them any attention dude.

  7. #7 by George on November 16, 2008 - 1:42 pm

    Dude, don\’t let those buttheads get to you.  Do they not realize that that is the total count since May?  What difference does it make anyway?  Hey, that\’s pretty good anyway…I\’ve been on Spaces since sometime in 06 and only been regularly posting since July of 07 and I have just 11k hits.  Ignore them, they\’ll go away.

  8. #8 by Amit on November 18, 2008 - 11:54 pm

    Dont worry Kelly… i agree to all the points your well wishers have made.. you should not pay attention to all this and just keep doing your good work what you have been doing till now.. 🙂

  9. #9 by John on November 19, 2008 - 11:26 am

    Just an observatin I have run across, and since I posted something along the lines, my hit count is much higher than actual users coming to my Space.  If I go through my stats, there are several where the Page Title referenced starts with RSS: which seems to a hit of the site when someone\’s RSS reader is going out and checking for new entries or refreshing.  Again, that is not something people need to whine about because someone has found your site informative enough that they have defined a RSS reader to keep track of it.

  10. #10 by Kelly on November 19, 2008 - 11:40 am

    Yep I have seen those before. But because the stat information is so thin I count the RSS links as hits because the stats page does. But you are very correct in what you are saying.
     
    It brings up an interesting point I was thinking about. People that rely on blogs (i.e. clicks or page views) to generate revenue (see http://www.profootballtalk.com ) but have users subscribe to an RSS feed, do they lose revenue because of that?

Leave a Reply

