Automatic Keyword Tag Generation for Live Space – Interested?

I am considering building a web or windows app that will automatically generate the keyword tags (like for Windows Live or technorati) for a given blog entry. My thought is to have you copy and paste your blog text into a textbox of some kind and it will return the proper HTML or formatted string with the relevant keywords that you can copy and paste into your blog entry. I would do Windows Live tags and Technorati tags. I would really like to build it as a add in for Live Writer but have not found an SDK for it. Would you be interested? Do you have suggestions as I begin the process of building this that you would like me to know? I am betting it has been done before but I was not happy with anything I have found so far.

  1. #1 by Doug on November 21, 2008 - 10:40 am

    Hey, Kelley,
     
    This sounds really cool, and is perfect for a Writer plug-in. There is a Writer SDK you can find here: http://dev.live.com/writer/ Keep us posted on how it goes!

  2. #2 by crestind on November 21, 2008 - 11:08 am

    Sounds cool!

  3. #3 by Jennifer on November 21, 2008 - 12:10 pm

    Keep the ideas flowing and let us know how it turns out.

  4. #4 by David on November 21, 2008 - 12:36 pm

    Hey Kelley – definite interest, that would make a great solution to a tedious task that I grapple with the first of every month.My saliva glands kicked in from just reading your notional description . . .

  5. #5 by Kelly on November 21, 2008 - 12:38 pm

    well surprisingly enough it is coming along quite quickly. The users will need to have MS Word or 2000 above installed. So since there is an interest I will keep going.

  6. #6 by Seika on November 21, 2008 - 6:47 pm

    Hi. The idea is interesting. Although in different context, I wondered about logic of choosing what would be keyword.
    When making keywords (manually), I often got confused of which words are actually meaningful keyword to describe what’s in something. Can’t find a definitive rule about it, everything is fuzzy and based on feeling of what might be useful when performing a search or grouping things.

Leave a Reply

