Tag Generator for Live Writer: Problems and Workarounds

One topic of emails and questions I receive are in relation to the Tag Generator, a plugin available for download, for Live Writer, a blog writing tool.

First some history. The Tag Generator was originally written over two years ago to provide myself a way to automatically generate tags for my blog posts. I got tired of doing it manually. It worked well for me so I decided to create a plugin that others could use. It uses the Microsoft Word thesaurus to verify words in the blog and their meanings. It isn’t perfect but its better than nothing. Obviously some of you agreed as over 14,000 downloads took place. However over the last couple of years, for various reasons, no work was done on this plugin and a new version of Live Writer was released. While the Tag Generator plugin still works, it does not support the options feature for plugins that came out with this version of Live Writer. In addition, as you all know, Windows Live Spaces no longer supports blogging, instead choosing to support the Word Press blogging resources. Generating these tags are obviously pointless.

You might wonder to yourself why I just don’t sit down and rewrite the plugin and be done with it. Basically it is because I am too busy at the moment to do so. I will at some point I promise. I apologize to those of you who have been frustrated. But this blog post today is to tell you how I still make use of this plugin and how  you can too.

First after you are done writing your post, right click on your document and click select all.

image

Then click “Insert” in the Live Writer toolbar and click “Generate Tags”.

image

Click the option or options you wish to generate the tags for and click the button “Generate”

image

Add, modify or delete the tags you wish…..but do not click the Insert button at the bottom! Instead select all of the words in the “Tags” text box and copy them. Then in the Set tags text box at the top of Live Writer, paste these words in their textbox.

image

Now your post will be tag ready for publication whenever you choose!

I am sorry for the hassle. I still find this plugin extremely useful for me and I promise I will get around to redoing it for you at some point. But this works fine for me for now and hopefully will for you as well.

Facebook

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by jasminehaidir on August 8, 2011 - 5:28 pm

    oh dude, i’ve a little understood.nice this is useful info,kelly.
    I’m sorry.I still have a little problem.I hope you are willing to help.
    That is :
    when i click ‘Generate tags’ show option,and i select generate tags for blogger,and i must put blogger name. is blogger name = my blogger profile ? cause when i input my blogger profile WLW error again.
    Thank you.

  2. #3 by Paulo F. on April 7, 2012 - 9:02 am

    Hello, thank you for your work on this plugin first of all. Maybe something changed in Live Writer, when I copy the tags to the clipboard I’m not able to insert them in the tags on live writer. The only viable way to do it is editing the post directly in blogger and then I can paste it there. Is there any other way of doing it?

    Thanks.

  3. #4 by renfield1897 on April 27, 2012 - 8:32 am

    Hi

    I have installed your plug in on 2 laptops, both running windows 7, same version of WLW, and on one it works perfectly, but on the other it crashes.The error I get is:

    Windows Live Writer has encountered a problem: Cannot create ActiveX component.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: WindowsLiveWriter
    Problem Signature 01: CreateObject
    Problem Signature 02: 197
    Problem Signature 03: System.Exception
    Problem Signature 04: 15.4.3555.308
    Problem Signature 05: 2.0.50727.5448
    Problem Signature 06: Windows Live Writer
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057

    I have checked and ActiveX is working.

    The laptop it works on is my daughters and I find it really useful and would like to get it working on mine.

    Would you have any ideas how I would go about fixing it?

  4. #5 by gonesimera on September 27, 2012 - 6:50 am

    Great plug in, but has just stopped working.

    This is what it says in plugin options

    An installed plugin is incorrectly implemented and has caused an error. You may be able to contact the plugin’s publisher below to resolve this issue. Alternatively, you may avoid this error in the future by uninstalling the plugin mentioned below.
    Name: Generate Tags

    Publisher: http://kellychronicles.spaces.live.com/

    Unimplemented Method: WriterPlugin.EditOptions

    I hope this can be of help

Leave a Reply

