Northwind Database For Oracle

Ah Northwind. The database everybody learns on. Well almost everyone. I realize it is a Microsoft product but you would have thought somebody along the line would have developed the same for Oracle and MySQL.

Why did this come up? In the next rendition of MySQLMove (which is being renamed for the next release – I still haven’t settled on a title for it yet. Something that indicates it is multi environment data collector and reporter. If you have suggestions or ideas please let me know…) I have been telling you about I wanted to add Oracle back ends as an option to get your data from. During the examples on past releases I used Northwind to demonstrate how to use the software. So I looked high and low on the web and didn’t find a single useable version of Northwind for Oracle. So I did it the old fashioned way. I exported my Northwind from SQL, table by table to excel files and imported them into Oracle. There’s an hour of my life I won’t get back. So just in case any one else has to go through this I pulled all the Oracle scripts for creating the tables and inserting the data, zipped them up and have made them available to you for download. All you have to do is download it, unzip it and run the scripts. Why? Because I am a nice guy that way and I had the time.  If I saved anyone some time, it was worth it.

, , ,

  1. #1 by baexpspr1 on April 23, 2021 - 3:35 pm

    Thank you for uploading the files.
    I could successfully upload to Oracle using your scripts and use it.

  2. #3 by Pashan on April 23, 2021 - 8:02 pm

    ORDERS Table CUSTOMERID Column is not referring to CUSTOMERS Table CUSTOMER_ID column.
    Any way can you please correctly export the ORDERS Table?

  1. Northwind Database For DB2 | Kelly's Chronicles

Leave a comment